CYPD3175 detailed programming flow using MiniProg3

Announcements

Live Webinar: USB-C adoption. Simple & Cost-efficient solutions | April 18th @9am or 5pm CEST. Register now !

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
BDu_4573986
Level 1
Level 1
First like received

Hello,

I am a power electronics designer with essentially very little to no experience in programming. I have created a CYPD3175 direct feedback application to control a step-down buck regulator aimed at providing a USB-PD compliant output via a type-C connector. Using PSoC Programmer along with a MiniProg3 dongle, I've been able to program the CYPD3175 with existing hex files, thus verifying that the hardware works. I have all the latest software from Cypress (including EZ-PD CCGx Host SDK 3.3, all installed within the past 3-4 days).

My question is: how does one go about creating a hex file from scratch? My problem is that I could not find a hex file that likely matches the power profiles I want my application to support and also, without having created the specific configuration, I cannot tell what settings are being programmed into the CYPD3175 via an existing hex file... over-current trip points, etc. Hence, the need to gain the ability to program the controller from scratch.

The PSoC Programmer GUI is pretty straight-forward and I think I know how to use it to load a hex file to the Cypress controller. Hardware and physical layer appear to work fine. I also fiddled with EZ-PD Configuration Utility and I think I can use the knowledge I have of USB-PD to come up with a configuration that suits my application.