Need help to interface GPS to PSoC4

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello,

I am new to PSoC4. I am trying to interface GPS http://www.progin.com.tw/mr87_en.htm with PSoC4.
I got an example project at http://www.element14.com/community/message/88323/l/psoc-4-pioneer-kit-community-project086-gps-algor...

It works perfectly to echo the string that I sent using hyperterminal (.jpg file inside the attached project), but does not display the longitude and latitude on LCD (LCD just displays only "GPS Shield"). So the logic for displaying over LCD has some logical error.

In my project (attached herewith), I have used the LCD component API provided by PSoC Creator 3.1(one in the example is obsolete)

Please let me know, what is causing the error.

Regards,
Sarang

0 Likes
7 Replies
rola_264706
Level 8
Level 8
50 likes received 25 likes received 10 likes received

What model of GPS module are you using?  Also if you look at the example the baud rate for the module  it is set to 57000 not 4800 like your program.  Also the uart setup is different.  It has an external clock. Your design is displaying the setup message but not data from the GSM module.  So it has to be due to the baud rate settings or your UART settings for the uart that connects to the GPS module.  Also you are using a different lcd module but that is working as you are getting the startup message. 

0 Likes
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you Bobgoar for your prompt reply.

Hey I am using GPS module: ProGin MR-87  http://www.progin.com.tw/mr87_en.htm   at baud rate of 4800. So I have set UART_G at baud rate of 4800.