Device Configurator and HAL/ PDL compatibility - use cases

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Panometric
Level 5
Level 5
100 sign-ins 100 replies posted 10 solutions authored

I'm new to Modus (2.2) and it while seems to be evolving rapidly, I ran into a vexxing error and wonder why this is:

Device configurator builds for PDL, and HAL s based on PDL. But if you use the device configurator to configure the device, you can't use HAL functions because it thinks the pins or peripherals are in use.  This is further compounded by that fact that they actually are not in use,  since the PDL startup code does not initialize them.

Having used other toolsets like STM32Cube that are similar, but do allow these tools and abstraction layers to be mixed, I find this very counterintuitive. Furthermore, the code to initialize the peripherals per the device configurator with either HAL, PDL or both should be executed in the device startup. It's boiler plate, so there does not seem to be any value in writing it from scratch.

So I'm perplexed, there is lots of tooling here, but no obviously right way to use it. What are the recommended use cases with design flows?

0 Likes
1 Solution
DheerajK_81
First comment on KBA First comment on blog 5 questions asked

You would decide to use the HAL when you want a generic interface that can be used across multiple product families. This would provide ease of use and portability to your application. But note that HAL is just a subset of the features supported by the PDL.

Based on the requirement of your application, you would need to make a choice if you need to make use of the HAL or PDL. If you choose the PDL route, you can enable the resource in Device Configurator and configure it. But you won't be able to interact with this same resource using HAL, it will cause conflicts.