Thermopile Interfacing convert to object temperature

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
ViTa_297566
Level 2
Level 2
10 replies posted 5 replies posted 5 questions asked

I am reading an app note written by Cypress which is attached. Actually we are interfacing thermopile attached its datasheet also.

We are able to measure the Vtp of thermopile and convert Rth to NTC_temperature.

Now we have trouble converting these two readings to Object temperature.

image.png

Can anyyou tell in a bit more detail how to do it further?

Our area of it interest of object temperature is 35 to 42C and Ambient goes from 0 to 50C.

0 Likes
1 Solution

ViTa,

I believe that Excel has minimization function, which can optimize K and n over the dataset.  Something like equation solver. I am not an expert on that.

/odissey1

View solution in original post

0 Likes
9 Replies
odissey1
Level 9
Level 9
First comment on KBA 1000 replies posted 750 replies posted

ViTa,

You may consider using another thermopile sensor from the Melexis (MLX90614 or MLX90616).

Digital Non-Contact Infrared Thermometer (MLX90614) #Melexis

Unlike OTP-638, it has internal brains to measure voltage and sensor temperature with simple I2C digital output for both.

There are several projects posted on Cypress forums with code for it, e.g.

Re: Smbus with the PSoc4

/odissey1

0 Likes
odissey1
Level 9
Level 9
First comment on KBA 1000 replies posted 750 replies posted

ViTa,

According to the OTA-638D2 datasheet, the object temperature Tobj can be obtained using a lookup table from measured V_thermopile and T_themistor. Lets say T_thermistor=20C and V_thermopile = 1.50 V.

1. select a column (1-25), corresponding to T_thermistor . Column = 20.

2. In the column 20, find voltage, closest to V_thermopile =1.50V. Found 1.530V, which gives T_object  = 37C.