Top Design PWM limiter

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
AlTo_2058231
Level 1
Level 1
First like given

Hello there,

I'm personally quite new in the PSoC world, but my company develops on this chips since PSoC 3 release.

We are aiming to switch to the PSoC 6 in the future and I'm studying for products design improvements.

There are so many changes that we'll a lot of work to do, but I'm here now to ask you a thing that might be backported also to PSoC 3.

At the moment we are using a PSoC 3 to control a brushed 24VDC motor through a PWM signal over an external H-bridge driver.

So we modulate the PWM to get a proper motor velocity and we close a control loop over an encoder to get precise positiong.

Since we have an external load that can change impulsively, we have implemented a software current limiter inside the PSoC code, to avoid motor faults when exceeding the maximum nominal and peak currents of the DC motor. This is done basically by limiting the PWM max value when the measured current is above the given threshold.

Since the PWM block is inside the Top Design alongside the Del-Sig ADC for current measurement, I was wondering if it could be possible to move also this software limiter (or something similar) inside the Top Design. This should help to get rid of the potential delays during software computation (we have other routines that cycles on the PSoC, including communication interrupts handling).

Also, I think that moving it to the Top Design would improve the current limiter dynamics, which is sometimes much slower w.r.t. the impulse.

Do you think that it is feasible?

And what about performance improvements?

Thank you very much for your help

Alessandro

0 Likes
1 Solution
odissey1
Level 9
Level 9
First comment on KBA 1000 replies posted 750 replies posted

AlTo,