How to make a datalogger app

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
jomac_4032611
Level 3
Level 3
First like received

I have my cyble-022001 based sensor working fine and need to make an app to write the data to file on android or IOS device. I have already made a simple app that shows the data on screen. I used Evothings Studio and the app so far runs only in Evothings viewer app, thus it's not a compiled native app, just HTML and javascripts, but should be possible to compile using cordova + native SDK.

I'm new to apps and quite confused what is needed for an app the be able to communicate via BLE and write data to a file for hours while the phone is locked or used for something else.

Does it need a service? Foreground or background service?

What is a good platform to make such on app for both android and IOS. Evothings + cordova seems easy to get started with, but I don't know if they have all the functions needed, especially related to keeping the data logging on while the device is locked. Also Evothings has not been updated since 2017.

I'm good at c, know some c++ and javascript. I have not used java nor swift, which seem to be the languages native SDK's use. I did make a simple app with android SDK a few years ago. I guess that was java?

1 Solution

While waiting for the answer I went further with Evothings and then also made a "native" app using Build Phonegap service, which was quite easy. I haven't yet purchased Apple Developer key, so I could only build for Android. Evothings Viewer for Android lacked a lot (file, e-mail etc.), but IOS-version has all I needed (CGTek Viewer in the Appstore). Now I have data logging working in both IOS (with Viewer) and in Android (native).