SPI receive data from slave trouble

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm new to SPI and have run into a snag. I have a a PCB with a PSoC 3 trying to communicate to an nRF24L01+. With PsoC Creator, I have added an SPI mater to the project and have a simple loop where, after I do a "SPIM_Start()" I try to do some simple register write/read on the slave. I have a logic analyzer showing me the SPI data that is being transfered. It appears as though my write to say register 0 is working .. I basically do a "SPIM_WrtieTxData(<addr>+32)"  ( register write requires bit 6 to be a "1" to indicate a register write, so register "0" if the value == 32), then I do another SPIM_WrtieTxData(<value>) to write the data to that register. So far so good, and the analyzer shows the xfer. But, when I try to read the register; I send "SPIM_WrtieTxData(<addr>)" (bit 6 is clear for a read, so just the reg addr is needed) then another write ("SPIM_WrtieTxData(0xFF)") with bugus data, which gives the slave the clock cycles it needs to shift the return value out  (verified with analyzer), I then do a "temp = SPIM_ReadRxData()" to read what I would think would be the slave return data but the value returned is NOT what is expected (nor what the analyzer shows). So, I must be missing some simple step before I should read the slave data.

Here is a simple example of my code.. and a snapshot of the analyzer output (attached)

My guess is I'm missing some Tx and/or Rx status checks but I'm not sure what and why?

Any suggestions?

main() {

uint8 addr, val;

SPIM_Start();

for (;;) {

addr = 32;     // Set bit 6 to write to a register (i.e.  001a aaaa ..  "aaaaa" is the register address). So reg "0" here.

SPIM_WriteTxData(addr);   // Tx addr to slave device