DMA from filter output to an array using PSOC5

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi-

Warning:  I am very new to PSOC.

I have been experimenting with the CY8CKIT-050 development kit.  I have had a lot of difficulty getting the DMAs to work...I am pretty sure it is because I lack some understanding of the DMA and fail to properly configure it.  My experiment project is fairly straight forward:  DAC=>ADC=>DMA=>FILTER=>DMA=>RAM.  After a great deal of effort, I have been able to transfer the output of the ADC to the filter.  I am using 12 bit output from the ADC, and initially could not get the filter to process the data.  It seems that since I was using the STAGEA as my DMA destination, the 2 byte transfer was not writing the STAGEAH location, and therefore did not trigger the filter to process the data.  From the data sheet, I saw that I should set the Filter DAlign register appropriately, but this did not seem to help.  So, I set the destination to STAGEAM, and the 2 byte transfer wrote the STAGEAH register, and all was good.  I used an interrupt on the filter to allow me to read the values out of the filter, and load up an array.  I made the array 1024 in size(I have since shrunk to 256 for ease of debug), and once it was full, I started again at address 0.  It worked just fine, and I was able to verify that it was working as expected.