Advice on attempting a parallel design

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Disclaimer: I apologize if this question is off-topic but I'm quite new to the field of programmable logic and would like to drawn on your collective experience to help me decide if a PSoC device is the right way to go. I don't mind putting in the work but at this stage I'm lacking intuition about what is feasible and would like to avoid running into icebergs later on.

The project I am attempting is to build a hardware debugger for a recalcitrant microprocessor system. This system has a bus with 8 data + 16 address bits, plus control signals, running at 1 or 2 MHz.

My rough design for the real-time (i.e. hardware assisted) part looks something like this:

1. Route the bus to the parallel inputs of four datapaths, capturing each cycle.
  3. Save the data from each cycle into a cyclic trace buffer via DMA.
  5. Hash the address with a CRC.
  7. Mask the checksum and use it to perform indexed DMA into a breakpoint table.
  9. Compare the retrieved candidate breakpoint against the real addresses, optionally halting the CPU on a match.

In addition this particular MPU cannot be halted at any point. So a state machine needs to sequence through the instruction bytes in lock-step with the MPU, based on the opcode byte. Plus a slew of other details and complications too gnarly to mention.

I don't expect a detailed review but is this the sort of thing a PSoC is suited for or will I quickly hit timing/routing limits? For the record I've managed to build a prototype, around a PSoC5LP, and have sort-of gotten the trace running.

Regards,
Johan

0 Likes
3 Replies
HeLi_263931
Level 8
Level 8
100 solutions authored 50 solutions authored 25 solutions authored

I think the PSoC5 is suited for that - doing the complicated stuff in hardware is the main purpose of the whole UDB / Datapath.