Create a BLE peripheral

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
PascalS
Level 4
Level 4
25 replies posted 10 replies posted 10 questions asked

Hi folks,

I'm new in the Cypress world and try to get in touch as fast as possible with the nice features of Cypress MCU's, especially with BLE components. At the moment I use the CYBLE-014008-00 BLE Module in combination with the BLE Pioneer Kit.

At first, I would like to create a BLE peripheral which includes some custom services and characteristics. The characteristic values should be updated when there are new values available. The new values are transferred from another MCU to the BLE Module via UART interface and a small protocol. The last day, I played a bit with the UART communication and feel well, to implement the UART interface and communicate with another MCU. I have also created two UART interrupts (TxD transfer complete / RxD buffer not empty) to implement these communication. So this part should work! I just get one warning: "Warning-1366: Setup time violation found in a path from clock (CyHFCLK) to clock (UART_IntCLK)" Maybe someone has got an idea to solve this warning?!

Right now, my main problem is to understand how the BLE module exactly works. In the attached example file, I initialized the BLE module with one custom service and one custom characteristic. I looked at some examples and implemented two function calls. First I use this function:

apiResult = CyBle_Start(StackEventHandler);

Afterwards I call this function in the infinity loop:

CyBle_ProcessEvents();

Now I can find and connect to my new BLE Peripheral. But how am I able to update the value of my custom characteristic? I tried to use this function:

CyBle_GattsWriteAttributeValue(&myHandle,0,&connHandle,CYBLE_GATT_DB_LOCALLY_INITIATED);