Using a L298N Chip to drive stepper motor with Psoc 5LP

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi everyone,

I'm currently using a CY8CKIT-059 prototyping kit and I have a L298N Motor control chip with a stepper motor. I will include all the data sheets below. 

I have read a couple of resources in regards to using the PSoC 3 to drive a stepper motor and I'm fairly new to using PSoC but I have prior experience in using Ardiuno. I have deconstructed the code that is used the Arduino Stepper Library and modified it to work for PSoC.

So now, My stepper motor is able to continuously spin. I have enabled UART for it to do serial communication and I want to be able to input a command such as "On" and  "off" to toggle the stepper motor on and off. I am currently stuck on how I would proceed to modify my code/design schematic to allow for what I want to do. I also understand that the way I've coded it may not be the most efficient way to run the stepper motor, Any improvements suggestions are also welcome. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

-Sam

Datasheets:

L298N:

https://tronixlabs.com.au/robotics/motor-controllers/l298n-dual-motor-controller-module-2a-australia...

Stepper Motor:

https://www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/Robotics/SM-42BYG011-25.pdf

0 Likes
3 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Well, let me give you some advices:

As I can see from your code you are not programming for a very long time as I do. What I have learnt so far (by bad experiences) is that documentation and commenting the source files is essential. You will loose the knowledge why you did something particular after a couple of months have passed.

There is no indication in your main.c what it should perform and why you did it that way.