WaveDAC changes from software

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

I'm still new to the PSOC family, so please forgive what may be a potentially daft question. With the WaveDAC I know it's possible to set a frequency and leave it running (yay), but is it possible to change this frequency in software?

For example, read an ADC, do some munging in C, then change the frequency of the WaveDAC output. Is that possible?

Paula

0 Likes
14 Replies
HeLi_263931
Level 8
Level 8
100 solutions authored 50 solutions authored 25 solutions authored

Short answer: yes.

Long answer: use an external clock.

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks, I don't really want to use an external clock as that would mean taking my signal in through the PSOC ADC, processing it in the CPU, then sending it to some external clock to generate the required frequency, bringing it back into a pin on the PSOC.

So I'd really like to see if it's possible to do directly from the CPU.

0 Likes

External clock means "external to the component", not "external to the chip".  You select this in the component configuration.

0 Likes
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
EvPa_264126
Level 7
Level 7
500 replies posted 250 replies posted 100 likes received

Maybe so?
void main(void)
{
  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .                        
    UART_CLOCK_SetDivider(Divider[MyBaud]);              
    CyDelay(pause);                                            
}

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Interesting approach, thank you.

0 Likes
odissey1
Level 9
Level 9
First comment on KBA 1000 replies posted 750 replies posted
        Another approach is to use DDS module to control WaveDAC output ffequency (see link, App Note and video) http://www.cypress.com/forum/psoc-community-components/dds24-24-bit-dds-arbitrary-frequency-generato...   
0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable