New to PSOC - struggling to get started

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

I am new to PSOC and struggling to make much headway on seemingly simple things.

I started with the "Bootloadable Blinking LED" project, then added a ScanComp component.  It built and all was well.  I increased the inputs on the ScanComp to 10, and I run out of macrocells when I build it.  While I'm not sure it has any more macrocells, I figure I might as well update the project to the larger device that I plan to use for my project CY84248AZI-L475 vs 4245, and now when I build I get errors about bootloader targeting 4245 but bootloadable targeting 4248.  I looked through everything in the Workspace Explorer, and also in the bootloadable component itself and can't find anything that still points to the 4245.  I start to wonder if maybe it has something to do with bootloader vs bootloadable, but when i pull the datatsheet the definitions of each are not meaningfully different to me.  

So, I'm striking out everywhere I look

Can I get some pointers in the right direction?

This is a seemingly simple and small project.  How did I run out of resources(macrocells) when I increased the number of inputs on ScanComp?  The datasheet gives me the impression I could wire this component to all the GPIO if I wanted to...

Thanks,

-Travis

0 Likes
2 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

For all the components there is a chapter in the datasheet telling the amount of resources needed. At the right hand side of the Creator window is a tab named "Resource Meter" which tells you (after a build) how many resources your project consumes.