What is WICED SDK?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello there,

I'm new to this BCM43438 development and this WICED SDK. Due to the limited information online, I get confused about this SDK and the process of the whole bluetooth development. Here are some questions and really looking forward to get response.

1. What is WICED SDK in a nutshell? Does it provide development environment for BCM chip only or it provide whole solution for BCM and the MCU which connected to BCM?
  2. If WICED provide whole solution, then after make command there should have two firmware that one for BCM chip and another for MCU. Is that correct?
  3. What is the link between WICED SDK and 3rd-party BTstack (bluekitchen BTStack for example). Some saying WICED integrated a close-source BTstack. Where this stack root at? BCM or MCU? How can I replace the stack with an open-source one?
  4. Does BCM chip enable user features with WICED SDK? or this SDK is only for bluetooth-HOST MCU development?
  5. Whats the difference between standard HCI protocol and BCM-defined HCI protocol? Does BCM chip happy with pure HCI protocol?
  6. I read that BCM43438 need an init. script to boot up. What that init. script do exactly? Do I need to send this script every time when the board power up? If I want to use a self-developed MCU as a bluetooth host, and BCM 43438 as a bluetooth controller only, what is the steps i need to proceed before the BCM chip can functional normally that work with standard HCI interface?

Some questions are quite noob... but to be honest I really have try my best on searching and learning. Unclear information make me confused and things getting worse... Really appreciate for the help! Sorry for the long post, here is the potato. O  

0 Likes
1 Solution
VinayakS_26
100 replies posted 50 replies posted 25 replies posted
0 Likes
5 Replies
MichaelF_56