BCM943362WCD4 based design

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

I am new to this platform, and have been evaluating WICED Wi-Fi EVAL KIT (BCM943362WCD4) for a project. The project aims at designing a schematic/layout with WICED module (using USI WM-N-BM-14) which can be added to the range of products we have already designed. Application part will be different from product to product.

At design/development stage, it is convenient to have a USB interface for JTAG and UART, to program and debug the application. But during the production, we will need a better way to be able to flash the application to the STM MCU.

WICED application note WICED-AN800-R on Factory Programming provides information from the software point of view of programming the modules, but there is little or no information provided regarding the hardware setup. What sort of hardware design will be required for the factory programming as mentioned in this application note?

Does it necessarily require JTAG-2-USB for programming? In this case, the Olimax JTAG USB programmer can be used.

Can we program using UART RX and TX from the breakout header using TTL-232R-3V3 UART to Serial (or any other converter)?

I have seen some responses regarding UART programming under WICED Smart forum. Do those responses also apply to WICED Wi-Fi, or are these two development systems completely different?

Our aim is to reduce the number of components that will be included in the design (so no FTDI chip if possible). What will be the bare minimum design in order to be able to program the WICED Wifi? Any design guide or schematic available?