cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WICED Studio Wi-Fi Combo

New Contributor

Hi,

We are using Cypress 43455 (murrata 1MW) with NXP MCU with Wiced SDK. We are trying to connect wifi module with a wifi router configured in AC only mode but are not able to do so. We are able to scan the router but join attempts to the router always fails. We have observed that if we set the country code as USA on the module side we are able to connect to router.

We have tried to make sure that the country selection on router and module match but we don't see any success. We are able to use all the other modes (N, A, mixed etc) with other country code but not AC.

What could be the solution for this? We want to set the country code as UK and run AC mode. What are we missing here?

Firmware and CLM blob information:

WLAN Firmware: wl0: May  2 2019 02:46:20 version 7.45.189 (r714228 CY) FWID 01-105ab14e

WLAN CLM     : API: 12.2 Data: 9.10.136 Compiler: 1.29.4 ClmImport: 1.36.3 Creation: 2019-05-02 02:31:24

Regards

0 Likes
Reply
17 Replies
Moderator
Moderator

Hi

Can you send the "wl curpower" output for UK (country code: GB)?

Does the same issue persist with the later (or new) firmware?

Regards

Yash

0 Likes
Reply
New Contributor

Hi,

We have not yet ported the MFG utility on our controller as we are not yet in the prescan stage. Is there a way to get this information when running the module in normal mode via some API?

If I am not wrong, we already have the latest firmware, can you please point me to a later version if any?

Regards,

Yash

0 Likes
Reply
Moderator
Moderator

Hi

Can you please attach the clm_blob here (the one you are using)?

If possible, let me know which driver release was used.

FYI: Cypress Linux WiFi Driver Release (FMAC) [2020-09-25] this is the latest firmware.

Regards

Yash

0 Likes
Reply
New Contributor

Hi

Attaching the CLM blob file we are currently using (API: 12.2 Data: 9.10.136 Compiler: 1.29.4 ClmImport: 1.36.3 Creation: 2019-05-02 02:31:24).

The firmware we are using is version 7.45.189 (r714228 CY) FWID 01-105ab14e (as printed on console during wifi initialization).

Regards

0 Likes
Reply
Moderator
Moderator

Please attach the 43455.clm_blob file and not .h file

Thanks

0 Likes
Reply
New Contributor

Hi

please find the requested file attached.

0 Likes
Reply
Moderator
Moderator

Thanks but you need to attach .clm_blob file as well (that would be in the same folder with .bin file)

0 Likes
Reply
New Contributor

Hi,

This is the .clm_blob file, I have just renamed it. Sorry for the confusion.

0 Likes
Reply
Moderator
Moderator

Thanks

Also, please attach the .bin file as well.

Regards

0 Likes
Reply
Moderator
Moderator

Hi

Welcome to the new community. 

I went through the clm_blob which you provided, it seems the 11ac channels are enabled. 

Can you please let me know how are you testing the 11ac?

Regards

0 Likes
Reply
New Contributor

Hi,

To reproduce the issue perform the following steps:
1. Configure WiFi router in "AC only" mode. With region set to UK and channel selection auto.
2. Compile the device side code (in our case NXP K64F controller EVM + 1MW module) with default country code set as "UK". We do this by passing the argument "WICED_COUNTRY_UNITED_KINGDOM" to "wwd_management_wifi_on" function during WiFi stack initialization.
3. Try to join the network created in step 1. Device fails to join the network.
4. To verify that the WiFi router is functional perform step 2 with country code for "US". With this the device successfully connects to the said router.

I did attach the BIN file as you had requested but it seems that we lost it in migration. I am attaching it here again to help you reproduce the issue.

Regards

0 Likes
Reply
New Contributor

Hi,

To reproduce the issue perform the following steps:
1. Configure WiFi router in "AC only" mode. With region set to UK and channel selection auto.
2. Compile the device side code (in our case NXP K64F controller EVM + 1MW module) with default country code set as "UK". We do this by passing the argument "WICED_COUNTRY_UNITED_KINGDOM" to "wwd_management_wifi_on" function during WiFi stack initialization.
3. Try to join the network created in step 1. Device fails to join the network.
4. To verify that the WiFi router is functional perform step 2 with country code for "US". With this the device successfully connects to the said router.

I did try to attach the BIN file as zip as you had requested but it seems that we lost it in migration. I tried it again on this new forum but none of my messages are getting posted. I am not attaching the file in this message will post it separately.

Regards

0 Likes
Reply
Moderator
Moderator

Hi 

I have been trying to post to the forum for quite a few days but have not been successful in doing it. So, I am replying you here regarding your question.

To reproduce the issue perform the following steps:
1. Configure WiFi router in AC only mode. With region set to UK and channel selection auto.
2. Compile the device side code (in our case NXP K64F controller evm + 1MW module) with default country code set as "UK". We do this by passing the argument "WICED_COUNTRY_UNITED_KINGDOM" to "wwd_management_wifi_on" function during wifi initialization.
3. Try to join the network created in step 1. Device fails to join the network.
4. To verify that the WiFi router is function perfrom step 2 with country code for US. With this the device successfully connects to the said router.

I tried with the new firmware and CLM blob file you have provided but am unable to successfully execute join api call of Wiced studio. The api throws "unable to set ba win" error. Are there changes needed in the WICED sdk to run the latest firmware and CLM ?

I am unable to attach the BIN file we are using here so will post it on the forum thread as soon as I am allowed to.

Regards

 

Hi

Sorry to hear that you are facing a problem to post the reply in the community. I have reported the issue and you will soon be able to post it and if you still face the issue you can use a private message.  

I have quoted your message (issue) so others can also view it. The old firmware (which you were using) had 80Mhz channels disabled for UK but the new firmware has those channels. Can you use the new firmware and instead of auto channel selection can you use channel 36 for UK and US and see whether it connects or not?

Also, please provide the clm information as well (for new firmware).

Thanks and Regards

0 Likes
Reply
New Contributor

Hi,

Attaching the new CLM blob and firmware that we are using (downloaded from the link you have provided).

We are unable to use the new firmware and CLM blob (error: "unable to set ba win" when calling join api of wiced sdk). Do we need to make any more changes in the WICED sdk to make it work with the new firmware are clm?

Regards

0 Likes
Reply
Moderator
Moderator

Hello

Sorry for the late reply.

Can you please perform test.console application using the new clm blob with WL command enabled. Please perform the "wl clmver" and "wl channel list" and update me with the same.

If the above test is not possible then please provide the clm information which you see during the bootup process in the serial terminal.

The new clm does have 80MHz channels enabled which was not the case with the old clm. Hence, 11ac can be used with country code GB. Have you performed the same testing with the US using new clm? If yes, do you see the same issue as with UK (unable to set ba win)? I don't see any changes that need to be done in WICED.

Regards

0 Likes
Reply
New Contributor

Hi,

Thank you for your response.

To test the new CLM blob file do I need to use the new firmware? The old CLM blob file was ~14KB but the new one is just ~4KB, is this expected or am I looking at wrong CLM blob file?

 

The "unable to set ba win" issue with the new Firmware and CLM blob pair is persistent irrespective of the country code or even the mode of operation (AC or otherwise). This error is thrown if I call the Join API of the WICED SDK. Can you please help me resolve this issue so that I can test the new Firmware and CLM blob.

 

Regards

0 Likes
Reply
Moderator
Moderator

Hi

Yes, you have to use the new firmware which is ~4.7KB long. 

Also, can you share the error code of the failing WWD function as well as wire shark logs during the join process? I assume you are using AP as an 11ac router (if others, please specify).

Regards

0 Likes
Reply