cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WICED Smart Bluetooth

Anonymous
Not applicable

I noticed some extra data printed when using tracing on HCI UART. What is this data ?

It starts from: @$*#

Here is the example of the log from the boot-up time:

hello_sensor_create()53

E: Free bytes = 0x00005384S:0000

@$*#04FF9EF7009201130000074A05176A732000074E053169000000078206110001000007820604

0100000007820603100E000007820620000F000007820601201C000007A207000001000007A60700

0000000007D2070000000000071A080100000000078A08010000000007EE07000000000007A20800

00000000E5490B000000000007362A0100E80300073A2A500000000007522A500001000007021F01

hello_sensor_connection_up: 579610c35f9b 64

@$*#04FF3EF700920107000002FA240000000000078633000000000007E6200000000000078E1E00

00000000071E210300000000078E1E000000000007863300000000@$*#04FF0EF700920101008004

hello_sample, bond result 00

hello_sensor_timeout:35004521D0000000000074A1264000000

Also this data overwrites the other human readable lines.

1 Solution
ArvindS_76
Employee

With SDK 2.0.1, we implemented an encoded tracing mechanism in the ROM to reduce the ROM foot print and to make logging a bit faster. You cannot use a hyperterm like application any more because these traces are encoded. The SDK comes with its own trace parsing plugin that can decode these traces. Use the Trace -> Start Debug Traces menu item in Eclipse to capture traces on the same uart you used to download the application (or use Trace -> Setup COM Port menu to manually set it). Note that you have to Stop Debug Traces before you download the app again or the download will fail.

View solution in original post

11 Replies
ArvindS_76
Employee

With SDK 2.0.1, we implemented an encoded tracing mechanism in the ROM to reduce the ROM foot print and to make logging a bit faster. You cannot use a hyperterm like application any more because these traces are encoded. The SDK comes with its own trace parsing plugin that can decode these traces. Use the Trace -> Start Debug Traces menu item in Eclipse to capture traces on the same uart you used to download the application (or use Trace -> Setup COM Port menu to manually set it). Note that you have to Stop Debug Traces before you download the app again or the download will fail.

View solution in original post

Anonymous
Not applicable

Is this feature reserved only for Windows users (with IDE-installer) ?

I am using Linux and hence need to use pure Eclipse.

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

I just got the confirmation that there is no plugin for pure Eclipse that supports Broadcom's tracing feature.

Therefore using it in Linux is limited now.

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

I also want to use wiced smart IDE's trace function, so I downloaded a wiced smart IDE installer and install it.WICED-Smart-SDK-2.0.1-IDE-Installer (Windows)

My os is windows.

When I open wiced IDE, I use "make project with existing code" to import my code which is from WICED-Smart-SDK-2.0.1 (.7z Archive). I can build my code with official eclipse kelper.


But when I want to use wiced IDE to build my code, this error occur:

"

make a4wp_power_transmitter-BCM920737TAG_Q32 download

wiced_toolchain_common.mk:178: *** incorrect 'make' used (make) - please use:  (Windows) .\make.exe <target_string>    (OS X, Linux) ./make <target_string>.  Stop.

"

0 Likes
ArvindS_76
Employee

Eclipse does not import all the project settings when you do this.

A better method would be to switch workspaces with Eclipse. With SDK 2.0 IDE, File -> Switch Workspace and then point to the workspace directory of the 1.1.0 SDK. Once the workspace has switched, you may have to configure the serial port the trace viewer plugin uses manually using Trace -> Setup COM port and typing in the port.

0 Likes
MichaelF_56
Moderator
Moderator

There's a good thread on installing SDK 2.0 while retaining the previous version here: How to install a new version of the SDK while retaining the old one...

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

When will the trace decoder be available on Mac and Linux?

0 Likes
MichaelF_56
Moderator
Moderator

It's available in 2.1.1 today for the Mac: WICED-Smart-SDK-2.1.1-IDE-Installer.zip

Not sure what the ETA is for Linux.

j.t victorz

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Is this a new build of 2.1.1? I have 2.1.1 on my Mac right now and I'm not sure how to actually decode the traces. Will they just be decoded automatically if I'm running the latest version?

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Oh, sure enough, traces generated with the trace command are automatically decoded. I just happened to be looking at something that wasn't generated by the trace command. Separate issue. Thanks!

0 Likes
MichaelF_56
Moderator
Moderator

There should be a Trace menu item at the top level of the IDE. If it's not there, then you can try reinstalling the SDK.

0 Likes