Can someone tutor me on GPIO usage?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello everybody, As I mentioned before, I am new to this type of programming. I've mainly programmed arduino's which is a joke compared to this chip. I am having alot of difficulties in converting my arduino code to be used with broadcom chip. For the time being what I need to do is GPIO. at the press of a button, turn on an LED, simple enough right? we'll im stuck with not being able to turn on the LED or figure out if my pins are correct.

If anyone has some time and would like to run my through the basics of this devkit and chip I would really appreciate it. We can meet online via skype or something alike.

0 Likes
1 Solution

The GPIO output voltage levels are the same as your Vio supply voltage. You need to use a level shifter if you want to translate this to a different voltage.

> I want to turn on a 20mA 3V LED is it possible to change the value from 1.8V to 3V?

P26-P29 (on the SoC, P26-P28 on the 2073xS modules and 32 pin QFNs) can source or sink up to 16 mA. I would suggest sinking instead of sourcing, just to keep large currents from flowing through the chip and heating it.

> Also, I added my `gpio_configurePin` in the create() function, is that bad/good? that way when i call my function that turns on LED, I can just set the pin by using: `gpio_setPinOutput`

Sure, this is OK to do. Though you must remember that when you configure a pin and output enable it, the output level parameter will take effect immediately. So the GPIO will be driven high in your app create function above.

View solution in original post

11 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello jareddlc,

Have you tried looking at the QSG?

WICED Smart™ Quick Start Guide (SDK 2.x and TAG3 Board)

Let me know if this helps.

JT

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable