BCM92073x periodic interrupt rate

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm new to this product so I apologize in advance if I'm missing something obvious.

I have an application where I need a period interrupt at around 1 KHz, (1 ms or so).  I don't see an obvious way to generate this.  The fine-time timer provided by the ble_ interface seems to have 12.5 ms resolution.

To take a step back, as there may be another approach: I'm trying to generate a couple PWM waveforms with a period of 25 Hz, (40 ms).  The slowest clock to the PWM hardware seems to be 128 KHz, and the PWM hardware has only a 10 bit counter...which gets me a 5 ms period.  Not quite slow enough!

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated.

Or a dope slap, that's even better, actually.

Thanks

0 Likes
1 Solution
ZhaohuaS_76
Employee
Employee
25 sign-ins 10 questions asked 10 sign-ins

Hi damaiano,

please refert to following the code to generate about 25Hz PWM.

aclk_configure(25500, ACLK1, ACLK_FREQ_24_MHZ);

pwm_start(PWM2, PMU_CLK, 0x200, 0);

gpio_configurePin((GPIO_PIN_LED) / 16, (GPIO_PIN_LED) % 16, (2 << 4), 0);

BTW, the ACLK_FREQ_24_MHZ will no function when 2073x is sleep, so you must use the function devlpm_registerForLowPowerQueries to let 2073x keep awake.

View solution in original post

9 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi!

Can you clarify if you need your BLE application to be interrupted every 1ms or you are looking for ways to generate a pulse out on a GPIO every 1ms to an external device?

Thanks,

Johan

Anonymous
Not applicable

I need to generate an output pulse on a GPIO.  Problem is the signal (25 Hz) is too slow for the PWM--near as I can tell.  That's why I was thinkig to do it with a periodic interrupt.  1 ms resolution is not critical.  25 Hz is.

Thanks! Chris

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

I see there is a hw_timer.h module that looks very useful.