fx3 jtag debug tiny-H

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
shovalk
Level 1
Level 1
5 replies posted 5 sign-ins First reply posted

hello all.

I'm a newbie so my question might sound trivial.

I'm trying to get my ARM-USB-TINY-H to debug through jtag a cypress FX3 on a custom board.

I've succeeded to flash out an example to the FX3 using the USB3 connection, but it doesn't have debug capabilities.

can anyone point me to the right direction on how to get it to work?

0 Likes
1 Solution
Rashi_Vatsa
5 likes given 500 solutions authored 1000 replies posted

Hello,

Please confirm if you have replaced the OpenOCD binary with the a version that is supported by ARM-USB-TINY-H.

As per the EzUSBSuite_UG

A version of OpenOCD binary that supports debugging using the CY7C65215 part is provided with the FX3 SDK, under the OpenOCD folder. This binary is based on the OpenOCD 0.8.0 release and only supports the CY7C65215 part as a debug interface.
If any other OpenOCD compliant debug probe (such as the Olimex ARM JTAG debug probe) is being used, replace the OpenOCD binary provided with a version that supports the target debug probe. The rest of the instructions are interface independent, and apply to any OpenOCD compliant debug probe.

Please refer to the links provided in EzUSBSuite_UG.pdf

Regards,
Rashi

View solution in original post

0 Likes
11 Replies
Rashi_Vatsa

Hello,

Any of the standard JTAG debug probes (such as  J-Link /OpenOCD) can be used to do run-time debugging of the FX3 firmware.

As per my understanding, Olimex Arm-USB-TINY-H probe supports OpenOCD. Is my understanding correct?  If yes, you can refer to section 3.2 of EzUSBSuite_UG of the SDK for debugging steps using Open OCD.

Regards,
Rashi
0 Likes
shovalk
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,