FX3 - slave FIFO interface new DMA callback before calling CyU3PDmaChannelCommitBuffer()

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
JaLo_3720291
Level 2
Level 2
First like given

Hi,

I am studying the slave FIFO interface for my application. Probably, I will use sync. slave FIFO interface 2 bit mode. I have a few questions as below:

1. Is it possible to set the max. transfer size of the USB endpoint and the DMA buffer size to 16KB?

2. What is the max. DMA buffer size? is it 224KB?

The default memory map used for FX3 applications is as follows:

Descriptor area    Base: 0x40000000 Size: 12KB

Code area          Base: 0x40003000 Size: 180KB

Data area          Base: 0x40030000 Size: 32KB

Driver heap        Base: 0x40038000 Size: 32KB  (Update cyfxtx.c to change this.)

Buffer area        Base: 0x40040000 Size: 224KB (Update cyfxtx.c to change this.)

2-stage boot area  Base: 0x40078000 Size: 32KB  (Update cyfxtx.c to change this.)

3. I want to know more about the behavior of the FLAGx signal.

a) For example, the USB endpoint size and DMA buffer size is 4KB, the USB host sends 1KB data to the FX3. Does the FLAG go low after the entire 1KB data committed to the consumer port? Or the FLAG goes low immediately after the data arrived the DMA buffer?

b) While the FPGA is reading the data out, there are new data coming from USB host to the DMA buffer. Will the unread data be corrupted (over-written by the new data)? Or, the FX3 will NACK the USB host?

Thanks,

Jason

0 Likes
1 Solution
SrinathS_16
1000 replies posted 750 replies posted 500 replies posted

Hello Jason,

1. Yes, you can use the maximum endpoint size of the USB endpoint (say 1024 bytes in case of bulk endpoint) and use the buffer size as 16kB.

2. Yes, the maximum DMA buffer size allotted in case of CYUSB3014 part is 224kB. This buffer area can be split into multiple buffers corresponding to a single DMA channel.