Data loss when streaming data via Bulk

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
jasony1
Level 1
Level 1
First question asked Welcome!

Hi all,

I am very new to the FX3 and I am trying to stream data from a 32 bit bus sampled at 10MHz to the computer. Data is sampled on the GPIF using two alternating threads. A program written on linux using libusb and cython simply reads 2MB of data (for now) and dumps it to the disk. 

Currently, I have a testbench set up to generate a 16-bit binary counter to be sampled. However, looking at the dumped data returned, there are (seemingly random) gaps in the data where the counter will jump values. I cant seem to find any consistency as to where the data drops and how much will be lost. 

Is there any way to figure out how to avoid packet loss?

Thanks!

0 Likes
1 Solution
JayakrishnaT_76
First question asked 1000 replies posted 750 replies posted

EDITTED for better clarity

Hello Jason,

As the size of the DMA buffer used is 8KB , width of GPIF II data bus used is 32 bits and based on the implementation of GPIF II state machine, I feel that a count limit of 2046 should resolve the issue. Can you please try setting the counter limit to 2046 and let me know the results?

Best Regards,
Jayakrishna

View solution in original post

0 Likes
12 Replies
JayakrishnaT_76

Hello,

Please share the following details so that we can understand the problem better:

1. How many data words are missing in the stored dump?

2. Please share the GPIF II project with us so that we can understand how the data is sampled.

3. Are you seeing data loss at the same position (or index in the dump) if the experiment is repeated multiple times?

Best Regards,
Jayakrishna
0 Likes
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.

Hi Jayakrishna!

For some reason cypress forums isnt recognizing my original login, but I am the original poster.