Connecting External 8-Bit SRAM

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Gaogg
Level 1
Level 1
First reply posted First question asked Welcome!

Hi, I'm new to learn how USB works. So i bought SuperSpeed Explorer kit recently. It's my fault that i didn't RTFM well. But i need some help.

1. First, I want to connect 8-bit SRAM that i have. Here's what i did

fig1.JPG

I used this 8-bit SRAM. Here's reference doc and you can check this in detail.

https://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/view/127524/HITACHI/HM6264ALP-10.html

I connected DQ(0 ~ 7) to I/O(1~8), DQ(8 ~ 15) to A (1 ~ 8).

fig4.PNG

Also i connected CTL0(DQ17) to !CS, CTL1(DQ18) to !WE, CTL2(DQ19) to !OE. J5 was disabled ofc.

fig2.PNG

And i fixed 32bit address to 8bit address via GPIF II Designer. This project is basically contained in "SRAM-FX3" Example, so i just fixed only that one.  after that, i generated config header, Re-Built "SRAM-FX3" Firmware Example.

fig3.PNG

This was i got. I followed SRAM Example based on manual, but i couldn't figure out what is wrong.

Please let me know what i've missed.

2. As far as i understand, Transition Equation between state slots from State Machine could change GPIOs' state.

fig5.PNG

but i don't understand how it works. Comment said,

=================================

The fromState parameter can be used to ensure that the transition to toState
happens only when the state machine is in a well defined idle state. If a
valid state id (0 - 255) is passed as the fromState, the transition is only
allowed from that state index. If not, the state machine is immediately
switched to the toState.

=================================

"Valid state" should be in 0 ~ 255, but why did they use 256 in CyU3PGpifSMSwitch?

and it seems this sentence tells me that i'm wrong. does anyone explain this in detail? I'm really confused.

Many thanks.

0 Likes
7 Replies
AliAsgar