Capacitor based backup for brief loss of power in memory stick

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable
        I am using the CY7C68033 USB Controller Chip to create a simple USB memory stick (1-NAND chip). It has an additional function that it provides a One-Time-Password per power cycle. I want to stop a brief turning off of the power to the USB port to cause a power cycle. I am not an Engineer and I simply used the reference schematic using the TP378833 voltage regulator. I am “hoping” that I can simply add a RC circuit to the device to provide a brief (~3 second) guard against this. I was hoping someone could tell me first if this is feasible and second, do I put it before the regulator or after and will it effect power consumption? I am thinking of using a 300 uf Cap but don’t know what resistor would go with that. The memory stick is very thin as it looks like a House Key so batteries etc are not an option. … Or am I being paranoid 🙂 ? Thanks.   
0 Likes
4 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

Your description about the power cycle is not clear. Please give more details about this.

Do you want to power cycle the board without disconnecting it  from the host?

Regards,

Vikas

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable
        I am trying to STOP a hacker from powering down the USB port on a PC briefly to cause my device to power down and when powered up recalculate a new One-Time-Password. If they do this they could harvest the One-Time-Passwords from the device. If I can increase the time the port needs to be without power before the device sees this as a true loss of power, I can reduce this threat. (I am assuming I can have a capacitor power the device briefly).   
0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi ,

I don;t understand your implementation of one time password.How you are implementing this one time password?