EZ-PD CCG3 USB Type-C to DisplayPort Cable Solution

Announcements

Live Webinar: USB-C adoption. Simple & Cost-efficient solutions | April 18th @9am or 5pm CEST. Register now !

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
KRingg
Level 2
Level 2
10 sign-ins 5 replies posted 5 questions asked

I'm new to the world USB-C Aux-Mode, so I've created a clone of the "EZ-PD CCG3 USB Type-C to DisplayPort Cable Solution" reference project to serve as a starting point. My schematic (see attached) should be identical to the reference design, so I would have expected the demo (CYPD3120-40LQXI_dp_dongle) firmware (provided as part of the "EZ-PD CCGx SDK") to work out-of-box.

The "EZ-PD Configuration Utility" sees my PCB without issue and allows me to program (both) firmware binaries correctly:

KRingg_1-1618512328043.png

KRingg_0-1618511881178.png

I can also successfully configure my PCB with the provided *.cyacd file (from the SDK):

KRingg_2-1618512412915.png

Despite these successes, my host (Windows 10) never shows any indication of recognizing my DisplayPort sink via my custom PCB. Anytime I plug in my USB-C cable (known to carry AUX-Mode video), my PC recognizes a "Billboard Interface" (and the EZ-PD Configuration Utility sees the IC)... but my GPU never recognizes a video sink (which I'd expect to show up as a "Monitor" in device manager).

KRingg_3-1618512957252.png

Any and all suggestions would be most appreciated as I'm not quite sure what else to try. Again, my goal from the beginning was to mirror the "reference design" as closely as possible (since I'm new to this subject matter). Thank you!

0 Likes
1 Solution
KRingg
Level 2
Level 2

For future visitors to this thread, I've resolved the issue.