Understanding Errors

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
rbtics
Level 1
Level 1
10 sign-ins 5 replies posted 5 sign-ins

I am relatively new to coding and I am trying to write a bus write and bus read function for my BNO055 Sensor. While debugging, I am getting these error codes for my I2CMasterSendStart and I2CMasterWriteByte functions but I don't understand what they mean. Could anyone guide me to understanding these errors and how I should fix them? 

0 Likes
1 Solution
DheerajK_81
First comment on KBA First comment on blog 5 questions asked

Hello @rbtics ,

If you intended to do a bus write, but you are seeing a bus read, it could be because you passed the wrong parameter to the imu_bn055_I2CMasterSendStart(uint32 slaveAddress, uint32 bitRnW, uint32 timeoutMs) function. 

Note that the second parameter of this function is used to define the transfer direction. Use the following values depending on the transfer:

• For write: imu_bn055_I2C_WRITE_XFER_MODE
  • For read: imu_bn055_I2C_READ_XFER_MODE

Hope with this change, you are able to move forward 🙂

Regards,
Dheeraj

View solution in original post

0 Likes
6 Replies
DheerajK_81

Hello @rbtics ,

The error code that you see for I2CMasterSendStart can be decoded by placing a breakpoint inside imu_bn055_I2CMasterHandleStatus function and debugging it. imu_bn055_I2CMasterSendStart calls this function to handle the error status codes. Let me know what error code you see so that I can help you debug it further. 

The error code 0x04 that you see because of imu_bn055_I2CMasterWriteByte indicates that the Master was not ready. You can find all the error codes in imu_bn055_I2C.h file. 

DheerajK_81_0-1619415744352.png

Hope this helps 🙂

Regards,
Dheeraj

0 Likes
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.

Hi,