What is the official way to change the Advertising Interval at run-time?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Len_CONSULTRON
Level 9
Level 9
Beta tester 500 solutions authored 1000 replies posted

I'm new to the BLE ecosystem so I'm not familiar with all the many API calls to control BLE operations.

I've created a BLE in Broadcast mode and I want to change the advertising interval in the App at run-time depending on conditions (such as battery voltage depletion).

I've been successful in doing this by using the following code.  Howewver, it requires I modify the config parameters before a Cy_BLE_Start() or Cy_BLE_Stop() then modify the interval parameters along with setting cy_ble_initVar = 0 then performing a Cy_BLE_Start().

#define BLE_APP_fastAdvIntervalMin    33.33                         // desired value in ms

#define BLE_APP_fastAdvIntervalMax    BLE_APP_fastAdvIntervalMin    // desired value in ms

#define BLE_APP_Adv_Interval_res    1.6

#define BLE_APP_FASTADVINTERVALMIN    (uint16)(BLE_APP_fastAdvIntervalMin*BLE_APP_Adv_Interval_res)    // This is the value used in cy_stc_ble_gapp_adv_params_t

#define BLE_APP_FASTADVINTERVALMAX    (uint16)(BLE_APP_fastAdvIntervalMax*BLE_APP_Adv_Interval_res)    // This is the value used in cy_stc_ble_gapp_adv_params_t

/* Change some of the initialization parameters.

These changes can only take effect if cy_ble_initVar = 0 and then the Cy_BLE_Start() or Cy_BLE_Init() is called */

cy_ble_config.gappAdvParams->fastAdvIntervalMax = BLE_APP_FASTADVINTERVALMAX;

cy_ble_config.gappAdvParams->fastAdvIntervalMin = BLE_APP_FASTADVINTERVALMIN;

/* Start Host of BLE Component and register generic event handler */

Cy_BLE_Start(StackEventHandler);

I've looked at the PDL docs for the BLE and the actual middleware .c files and couldn't find a API call to perform this function.

Am I doing this the "official' way or is there a correct API call I'm missing?

Len

Len