PSoC 6 Stopwatch on UART

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
GaAr_4611026
Level 1
Level 1
First like given

Hi Hope you're doing well.

I and am working on a project that requires me to read the x, y, z axis accelerometer values and print the time (in minutes/second/milliseconds) during which it has been registered, that is for each reading of course. Note that I am willing to read more than 84000 readings as fast as possible.

I did the accelerometer part, I am stuck now on the time part.

I want to implement a timer in my project that:

1- starts counting in min:sec:ms during the start of a trigger (input via GPIO)

2- print on UART with a string format of  min:sec:ms, by using printf (that is how i'm printing accelerometer values)

Any help regarding on how to implement this timer?

Please mention basic reference links or code that could be helpful for me. I am still a beginner in PSoC.

Notes:

- I am using CYBLE416045-02

Thanks and Best regards,

Garen A.

0 Likes
1 Solution
Len_CONSULTRON
Level 9
Level 9
Beta tester 500 solutions authored 1000 replies posted

Garen,

Another means of getting a 1ms resolution without allocating a special timer is to use the PDL SysTick.

With the SysTick you can:

• Cy_SysTick_Init() - Initialize it for 1msec resolution
  • Cy_SysTick_Enable() -  Enable it to start
  • Cy_SysTick_GetValue() - gets the current counter value (24-bit).  This is a count-down value. This allows for 4.66 hours before the counter wraps around.
  • Cy_SysTick_Clear() - set the counter back to the reload value if you need to restart the counter.
  • If more than 4.66 hours is needed, there is a Cy_SysTick_GetCountFlag() that let's you know if the SysTick counter wrapped.

Len

Len
"Engineering is an Art. The Art of Compromise."

View solution in original post

10 Replies
Len_CONSULTRON
Level 9
Level 9

Garen,

Are you using PSoC Creator or ModusTollbox as your IDE?