Disabling SWD interface during production

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Pn_4820131
Level 1
Level 1
First question asked First reply posted

Hi all.

I'm currently working on designing a bootloader to be loaded during manufacturing and once it's in the user's hands, the actual firmware is downloaded from our servers. Now, I'd like to permanently disable the SWD interface after the manufacturing firmware has been loaded to prevent it being dumped. I'm new to the PSoc series and I'd like to know what options I have? Can this all be done in code, or do I need a dedicated SWD programmer from PSoc to achieve this?

Thanks

0 Likes
1 Solution

Hello,

Can you please let me know which PSoC6 device you are referring to? PSoC6 devices come with EFuses that you can burn to enter SECURE mode where the DAP is disabled completely.

Please refer to the following threads for more information:

Is it possible to prevent user to trace through SWD/JTAG?

Reversible DAP lock using EFUSE_DATA_SECURE_ACCESS_RESTRICT0

Please refer to the Architecture TRM for more information on E-fuses and lifecycle modes.

Regards,
Dheeraj

View solution in original post

0 Likes
4 Replies
Len_CONSULTRON
Level 9
Level 9
Beta tester 500 solutions authored 1000 replies posted

Pn,

In the Design Wide Resources (DWR) there is a tab called "System"

pastedImage_1.png

Select the "Debug Select/GPIO" to allow the SWCLK and SWIO pins to be used as GPIO and therefore cannot be used for debugging.

You should note the following:

In order to program the bootloader, the SWCLK and SWIO pins are used.   At powerup or RESET, these programming pins are available.  If the reset is not intercepted by the programmer, the CPU will go through the boot process and will shortly allow the SWCLK and SWIO pins to be disabled and repurposed as GPIO.

Len

Len
"Engineering is an Art. The Art of Compromise."
0 Likes