frequency generator

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

I am very new to embedded programming.  I have the CY8CKIT -014 First Touch Starter Kit and have been working through the projects in an effort to get somewhat familiar with PSoC on-chip architecture and the Creator software.  I would like to develop a frequency generator but i need help.

Can someone help me understand which components are needed to do this?

Thanks

0 Likes
1 Solution
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Sorry, the snap-shot was not attached in the previous post. Hence, attaching the file.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
10 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi gube,

Welcome to the fascinating world of PSoC!

There are different ways in which you can generate signals.

Let me ask you some questions:

1) What kind of waveforms do you intend to generate? Sinusoidal / Square / Triangular / Ramp..?

2) What is the frequency of the signal?

Ideally, when you want waveforms such as sine, you can use a predefined Look Up table and update the Voltage Digital to Analog Converter (VDAC) with these values. The transfer of values from the table to VDAC can be done using a Direct Memory Access (DMA).

The rate of update determines the frequency of the waveform. The values in the LUT will determine the shape of the waveform and the range of the values in the LUT will determine the amplitude of the waveform.

0 Likes

hello, do you have any sample project of this , like from lut to dma and then dma to vdac . please 

thanks 

0 Likes
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

There is a component named WAVEDAC8 which you have to search for and add it like the documentation shows. This component has the ability to generate any wave-output you like.

Bob

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable