PSoC 1 Software PWM Performance and Advice Wanted

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Pauven
Level 2
Level 2
10 sign-ins 10 replies posted 5 replies posted

Background info for my question: 

I am an amateur/hobby circuit designer (self taught), so apologies in advance.   Also sorry for the long post.  I have many skills, but brevity is not one of them.

I've designed a pinball lighting control circuit board.  When I originally spec'ed out my requirements, and searched for components, the PSoC 1 rose to the top of my list.  Many may think the PSoC 1 is not the best choice for this application (and they're probably right), but at this point I'm too heavily invested in time and money to do anything different.  

I'm using the PSoC 1 with 56 GPIO, and configuring all 56 as LED outputs.  I will say that my main goal is 100% achieved, I have a working solution that meets my original objectives of directly controlling all 56 outputs without matrixing, and minimal latency, and decent PWM for LED's (good enough for pinball, anyway, though a little less flicker would be a nice-to-have).  Not only that, but my self-designed board is significantly cheaper than the commercial options that are available, so win-win even if my PSoC 1 choice was ill-conceived.

These same LED outputs are also optionally used to control a separate Power Driver board, allowing me to turn on/off pinball solenoids just like turning on/off an LED, except I don't use PWM for those signals, just on/off.

Keep in mind that for my following questions, each of the 56 outputs needs to be individually controllable for on/off and PWM duty cycle.

It was only after I designed my pinball lighting solution that someone asked if I could use it to control servos, and at first I thought sure, absolutley!  But upon further inspection I don't think the PWM performance is high enough for accurate servo control, bringing me here.