Newb: Reading values from MPU-6050 (Accelerometer + Gyro) using I2C

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi!

I am really fresh when it comes to PSoC programming, I only have a little experience with arduino from some projects in the past.

My project now is to read out the RAW-values from the MPU-6050, which requires the use of I2C. I have never used this before, and I am struggeling with all the new commands, and how/when to use them.

All I want to do so far is to read the RAW-data and save them in different arrays.

I have attached a schematic of what I've made this far, but I am kind of stumbling in the dark at the moment.

0 Likes
11 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Code (far from done):

#include <device.h>

void main()

{

/* Place your initialization/startup code here */

uint8 wrData;

uint8 rdData;

uint8 status;

uint8 readFlag;

uint8 breakp;

uint8 masterStatus;

uint8 temp;

LCD_Char_Start();

LCD_Char_ClearDisplay();

I2C_1_Start();

I2C_1_EnableInt(); //Enables interrupt, which is required for most I2C operations.

wrData = 117; //Reg number

uint8 slaveAddress = 0x68;

#define WR_BUFFER_SIZE       (2u)

uint8 sample_segment[WR_BUFFER_SIZE];

/* CyGlobalIntEnable; */ /* Uncomment this line to enable global interrupts. */

for(;;)

{

status = I2C_1_MasterSendStart(slaveAddress, I2C_1_WRITE_XFER_MODE);

while (stats != I2C_1_MSTR_NO_ERROR);

if(status == I2C_1_MSTR_NO_ERROR) // Check if transfer is completed without errors

{

I2C_1_MasterWriteBuf(slaveAddress,

(uint8 *)sample_segment,

WR_BUFFER_SIZE,

I2C_1_MODE_COMPLETE_XFER);

LCD_Char_PrintString("NO ERROR");

CyDelay(100);

}

}

}

/* [] END OF FILE */

0 Likes
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Welcome in the fascinating world of PSoCs!

At very first sight: