Using Timer Interrupts and UART RX Interrupts Together on PSoC 4

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello, 

I am a newbie with programming and I am having trouble getting my interrupts to work the way I want them to for my application. I want to send serial data over the UART to the PSoC, store the values every second, and then echo back the stored values. I am using a RX interrupt (RX FIFO not empty, priority 2) and a timer interrupt with the TC (priority 3). Attached is the TopDesign configuration. Currently, I am trying to get this code to work (just a sample code to see if I can get the interrupts to work correctly). I send the PSoC a string containing a character 'o', I should be reading only 'o' and '-', but the code always gets stuck in one of the interrupts with the other one never working. Could anyone tell me what I am doing incorrectly? Much appreciated!

Attached is the Top Design. The board is CY8CKIT-042

#include <project.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <string.h>
#include <stdbool.h>
uint16 ms_count = 0;
uint8 ch;

CY_ISR_PROTO(Timer_ISR);
CY_ISR_PROTO(RX_ISR);

CY_ISR(Timer_ISR){//Every millisecond, the code goes here
    ms_count++;
    if (ms_count == 1000){//Every second
        ms_count = 0;
        LED_Write(!LED_Read());
        while(ch != 'o')UART_UartPutChar('-');
    }
}

CY_ISR(RX_ISR){
    uint8 status = UART_rx_ClearInterrupt();//Clear interrupt flag
    uint8 sub;
    sub = UART_UartGetChar();
    if (sub != 0u){//Make sure grabbed character is not an empty
        ch = sub;
        if (ch == 'o'){
            UART_UartPutChar(ch);
        }
    }
}

int main()
{   
    /* Start SCB UART TX+RX operation */
    Timer_1_Start();
    Time_ISR_StartEx(Timer_ISR);
    RX_ISR_StartEx(RX_ISR);
    CyGlobalIntEnable;
    /* Start SCB UART TX+RX operation */
    UART_Start();