SPI NAND Flash memory in PSOC 4

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Cosmin_Dobrescu
Level 1
Level 1
5 sign-ins First reply posted First question asked

Hello, everybody,

I understand some electronics but I am not an expert and I am trying to incorporate a flash memory into my PSOC 4 (cyble 222014-01).

I need to store data acquired by the ADC built into the PSOC 4 and keep it for a long period of time. According to my estimation a memory of about 1 Gbyte would be enough. Although I am interested in the memory being as big as possible, within the limits of what is possible (max 2-3 Gbytes).

I don't need to connect this memory to any computer. I need to be able to write blocks of bytes and be able to read them. I say this because I have seen a repository of "Jesús Rodríguez" where he adapts a library of "ELM-Chan" called FatFs specially oriented to this kind of devices. Basically it implements a fat file system in memory, which adds a lot more complexity.

Since some people within the forum understand much more about electronics and have more experience I would like to know what ways are there to add a large memory to these SoC's.

My method of investigating the possibilities has been to go to Mouser to find out what types of memory exist. The most promising ones are NAND Flash with SPI interface that can have up to 8 GBits of capacity.Another important aspect is that the read/write speed is not critical, the idea is to write the data as it is produced.I have seen some 2 Gbits memory chips like the W25M02GV, TC58CVG1S3HRAIJ or MT29F2G01ABBGDWB.I have seen that cypress also sells memories, it would be best if it could be integrated in some simple way.