PSoc 4: How to generate varying PWM with analog input?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello everyone,

I am new to this field. I want to convert an analog input (from a potentiometer) to PWM output. Which mean,

if 0 V analog input --> 0% duty for PWM

if 3.3 V (max) analog input --> 100% duty for PWM

PWM output connected  to LED

By searching online and in the community, I am able to do the project attached below.

The problem I am facing is if I change a potentiometer nothing happens on the LED. Please help me!

0 Likes
1 Solution

You should not update the PWM's compare value more than once within a cycle. Because the ADC is free-running there is no clean connection between ADC and PWM.

I would suggest to configure ADC as one shot and using the PWM as the timer by using the ov output. You may connect ov to soc of the ADC. When conversion is done, eoc will be raised which you could connect to an isr component. In the interrupt handler you can read the conversion value and set the PWM compare.

Bob

View solution in original post

13 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Your timing is wrong:

The PWM input frequency is 1kHz, prescaler is 8 and period is 65536. This results in a period of 500 seconds. Quite a long time.

At first: Do you want to control the brightness of the LED (needs a period of max 10ms) or do you want to control the visible on-time of the LED (needs a period of ~1 second)

You need to re-calculate the compare value of the PWM so that your ADC max value (4096) reflects the PWM period value. Thus

Compare = ((uint32)ADC * Period) / ADCMaxValue

The parentheses ensure no precision loss.

And at last: Move the ADC_StartConvert() out of the loop into the initialization part, your adc is free running.

Bob

0 Likes
lock attach