PSoC4 Upgradable Stack OTA with one bluetooth profile

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
FrSt_4749731
Level 3
Level 3
10 replies posted 10 questions asked 10 sign-ins

Hello to all,

I am new to the BLE and bluetooth, OTA and few weeks ago started with the development kit (There I have 2 CPUs: BLE - CYBLE-222014 and MCU - CY8C4146AZI-S433). The firmware upgrade is done over the OTA and code is already available. The application to perform upgrade is on the mobile phone. But the procedure to update the FW seems very complicated for the normal user. As I see for the BLE part we have 3 projects: launcher, stack using the BLE with profile "BLE bootloader" and application with BLE and profile "BLE application".

When application is being used mobile phone and the kit are connected using the BLE profile "BLE application". And over this profile I can also update the MCU fw (both are connected using the I2C and on the MCU we have I2C bootloader) Which is ok and simple to the user. In the MCU we have 2 projects bootloader and application.

When we try to update the BLE fw over the OTA, the user has to disconnect from the kit. Then start the kit in such a way, that BLE is started in the bootloader mode. User then has to connect to the kit using BLE profile "BLE bootloader". After the update is done, user has to unpair with the kit "BLE bootloader" and again pair to the kit "BLE application".

I looked at the example and found similar case in this example: CE220960 - PSoC 6 MCU BLE Upgradable Stack Bootloader

The question is, why can't I use one BLE profile for all the actions? Must say that this approach is very complex for normal users. And also why are the bonding information deleted?

Also, could we not just use the mobile phone to put the kit into the bootloader mode? From the documentation 001-97060_AN97060_-_PSoC_4_BLE_and_PRoC_BLE_-_Over-The-Air_OTA_Device_Firmware_Upgrade_DFU_Guide.pdf