OTA & Scan Response Packet

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
MikeAustin
Level 4
Level 4
25 replies posted 25 sign-ins 10 replies posted

I have an application where I am using the Scan Response Packet to transfer data between my peripheral and a client quickly, without the need for a connection to be established.  This all works fine

But I want to implement this in a Fixed Stack OTA project, and no matter what I try, the Bootloadable code that makes a call to 'CyBle_GapUpdateAdvData' won't compile without an error.  The compiler kicks up an error claiming that that API doesn't exist, even though I've followed all of Cypress's documentation to correctly link the BLE code generated when I compile the Bootloader (which has the BLE component) to the Bootloadable code.

I think (now, keep in mind I'm a hardware engineer let loose on the firmware, so I could well be wrong) that there is an issue in the way the mk.bat and cm0ggc.ld files in the Bootloader are configured, meaning the appropriate API's generated in the Bootloader aren't included when the Bootloadable code is compiled.

I'm having a similar issue with any of the API's that are used to provide Current Time Service functionality, which means the part of my project that needs the CTS functionality is also bombing out at compile time, but I've stripped that out in the short term to focus on trying to establish why the Scan Response Packet API isn't working.

So, my question firstly is:

1.  Has anyone on here successfully implemented an OTA version of a project that utilises the API CyBle_GapUpdateAdvData?

2.  If so, did you have to make modifications to any of Cypress .bat or .ld files to get it to work?

3.  If you did, what were those mods?

Thanks and regards,

Mike

0 Likes
1 Solution
MikeAustin
Level 4
Level 4

Solved this myself in the end (is it just me, or has this forum turned into a bit of a void since Infineon took over Cypress??)