How to clear UART interrupt properly?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

i am still learning how to use the interrupts in PSoC4 and i have the following situation:

CY_ISR(UART_RX_INT_myReceiveInt)
{
    BLEtoUART(testbuf, 4, 1);
    GECKO_UART_SpiUartClearRxBuffer();
    source = GECKO_UART_GetRxInterruptSourceMasked();
    GECKO_UART_ClearRxInterruptSource(source);

}

VS

{

}

VS

{

}

The second snippet executes the line BLEtoUART(testbuf,4,1) two times. The first one is fine and the third one is fine. Please tell me how to handle the UART interrupt the right way. What i want to achieve ultimately is:

1. Detect when a character is received by the UART

2. Scan the received frame for start and end FLAG which indicate a valid message

3. Extract the message

Is there anyway to only throw an interrupt when a specific FLAG character is received by the UART?

Thanks for clarification,

Pat

0 Likes
1 Solution
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

@Pat

Do not clear the receive buffer. This should be done only in case of an error. You ought to set a (volatile!!) flag in your handler.

Do not send data in the interrupt handler, this might stall your system or conflict with the current handled interrupt. Instead poll for the flag or poll for GetRxBufferSize() to see if any characters have arrived. Pick the characters from RxBuffer with the appropriate read function.

Clear all interrupt sources or you are unable to see new errors occurring.

I usually suggest to increase Rx and Tx buffers to something like 80 and let the component do all the handling. Just query for GetRxBufferSize().

Of course you may write as an exercise your own circular buffer function, gives you more flexibility.

You may fire your own interrupt: Use an isr component with a hardware connection and call isr_SetPending()

Bob