How to add uart debug

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi

I am so lost!

I have been going through a few example projects for the BLE Pioneer Kit CY8CKIT-042. Starting with the BLE_battery_level which includes DBG_PRINTF.

Then I tried BLE_device_information_service which doesn't have DBG_PRINTF (debug via uart). Simple question, and I know it must be easy and I feel so stupid for not being able to do/find it - how do I add DBG_PRINTF to the BLE_dev_info_svc example? Do I add it as a component from a library, which comp, which lib?

My goal is to read log data from the PSoC into an Android phone. My android app can find the PSoC BLE device and print out its name and address, and I was hoping that the ble_dev_info_svc example would give me clues as to what to do next [unless there is a ready made example for what I want to do].

PS I'm new to OOP, Java, Android, and BLE - so have a lot to learn.

Thanks.

0 Likes
1 Solution
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

I have added the DBG_PRINTF function to the Dev Info Service Project. Please find it attached.

The things I have modified are:

(i) Copied the UART Component in the cysch file in the Battery Level project to cysch file of Dev Info Service Project

(ii) In the system Tab in cydwr file, the Heap Size is incresed to 0x400 (to accomodate more complexity)

(iii) In the Pins Tab in cydwr file, make sure th UART RX and TX pins are mapped to P1.4 and P1.5 pins respectively. (On the pioneer kit, these pins are only connected to a USB - UART Converter)

(iv) Copy the debug.c file in the BatteryLevel project and paste it to the Dev Info Service Project

(v) Have a common main.h header file to link the debug.c file and main.c file. (So that main.c file may use the DBG_PRINTF function defined in debug.c)