GENERAL questions about PSOC4 ble capsense

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi I am brand new to PSOC and I have some questions

1) My understanding is that you design your hardware on a pioneer board (I have the 042 BLE) and if you create a solid device virtually, then you buy the hardware from cypress to make a prototype?

2) I am not great with programming C. I have watched several videos including the PSoC 101BLE series and it seems like a nightmare to me. Is it still possible to learn to code firmwares to create my device? or should I move on to a different project?

3)My project is on making capacitive buttons out of conductive materials of my choice. I am then going to use that information to control something on the computer or a MIDI instrument. Can this be done with PSoC 4?

Thank you for answering in advance. You'll be saving a newbie developer's life.

-Martin

0 Likes
1 Solution
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Welcome in the forum, Martin!

I admit that learning C-language is a bit frightening in the beginning, but as you can see from all the others using it, verifies that it can be done 😉

Do you really need the BLE functionality in the beginning? That is more complicated than the "pure" PSoC, so better will be to start with something easier which can be done with your Pioneer board.

PSoCs generally spoken consist of a CPU (ARM M0 in your case) and some hardware, for instance the CapSense which will make it very easy to build your buttons. More hardware are ADCs, DACs, OpAmps, comparators, serial interfaces (I2C, UART and so on), timers, counters and PWMs and... and... Oh, yes, and a BLE interface.