F5 takes 10-20 seconds to respond

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
JoGr_3357391
Level 4
Level 4
10 likes given 5 likes given First like received

This is not related to displaying huge arrays in a single-step scenario.
I find that after entering debug mode, after everything is settled and ready, I press F5 and wait many (10-20, stopwatch) seconds before the processor starts executing code. If I hit a breakpoint, and press F5 again, I still have to wait many seconds before the processor starts executing again.

Is there a diagnostic I could run on the debug probe that would determine whether it's faulty?
Is there some other test I could perform to determine the cause of this

This is a relatively new development. I have been working on one form or another of this project for several months, and only in the past couple of weeks has it become _really_ slow. Prior to that it was the examination of several 2048 byte buffers that slowed things down.

I don't know whether this is a separate problem or related, but the debugger consistently loses contact with the probe after ten or fifteen minutes (this I have not timed with a stopwatch). This results in an error message in the output window: "Error: dbg.M0015: Debugger exited unexpectedly during run.  Encountered error (Target disconnected See output window for more information.)". Unfortunately, this is the only information available in the output window.

Message was edited by: John Griswold

0 Likes
2 Replies
AnkitaS_51
Employee
Employee
100 likes received 50 likes received 25 likes received

Hi John,

If we have relatively large (512 x 4 byte) arrays in debugger watch window then it takes a lot of time to update the value of these variables.

The delay is caused by GDB reading long arrays one element at a time.

Presently, there are no Creator releases planned anytime soon resolving this issue..