Advertising when connected in Peripheral role

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
JaOs_4314736
Level 2
Level 2
First like received

Hi,

In a BLE project I was asked to change FW to start advertising while connected as a peripheral device, and then send information by advertising (to phone app). I have not been able to do this, when connected and I try to advertise the connection drops, and when advertising and I connect, it stops advertising. I'm fairly new to BLE but have learned a lot with this issue.

Details:

Using PSoC 4.3, BLE component version 3.4

The device is CYBLE-212019-00

Thanks, James Osborne

0 Likes
1 Solution

Hi,

With PSoC 4 BLE, you can connect as well as Broadcast at the same time. Please refer the Day 7 code example from the lonk below:

https://github.com/cypresssemiconductorco/PSoC-4-BLE/tree/master/100_Projects_in_100_Days

Also you can scan for the BLE devices (observe) once they are connected. Please refer the Day 11 project from the same link.

Thanks

Ganesh

View solution in original post

0 Likes
7 Replies
JaOs_4314736
Level 2
Level 2
First like received

Also, I want to start scanning while connected as a central device. Is this possible?

Thanks!

0 Likes

Hi,

With PSoC 4 BLE, you can connect as well as Broadcast at the same time. Please refer the Day 7 code example from the lonk below:

https://github.com/cypresssemiconductorco/PSoC-4-BLE/tree/master/100_Projects_in_100_Days

Also you can scan for the BLE devices (observe) once they are connected. Please refer the Day 11 project from the same link.

Thanks

Ganesh

0 Likes

Hi,

I tried this and when I'm connected and start scanning the connection drops (I get a CYBLE_EVT_GAP_DEVICE_DISCONNECTED event). The BLE state changes from CYBLE_STATE_CONNECTED to CYBLE_STATE_SCANNING.

Thanks, James

0 Likes