Cannot do "mbed new ." again after an error

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
baga_4725781
Level 3
Level 3
10 replies posted 5 replies posted 5 questions asked

A rant: y'all excel in making the process of programming your boards as difficult as possible. ModusToolkit is *way* over engineered and a right pain. I switched to mbed, and it appeared to be much better.

I'm an old fart who started programming in 1976. It was expected that things were going to be difficult because the tools were pretty primitive. I started programming 8080 assembly code on a system with one (count them: one) 8" floppy drive. I've been doing embedded systems longer than most of the cypress dev team has been alive.

However, I now expect professional grade tools that do not get in the way. I want to download the toolkit, compile blinky && get it running. I then want to either change blinky for my purposes, start with a main.c and add to it, or have a good starting example.

I DO NOT WANT TO SPEND MY TIME CHASING DOWN TERRIBLE TOOLKIT PROBLEMS. I need to get stuff done. Between Modus and now mbed, I have wasted at least a week in the last 4 weeks on braindamaged tools.

The "drag the .hex file into E:" is fantastic. One minor complaint: the stinking thin keeps popping up, which changes the focus. Just let it be, folks. I will open it when I am ready.

An example of a good toolset: Arduino. Good examples. (Somewhat bad C, but I quibble.)

However:

1. You must re-run "mbed new ." with every new project, instead of just putting it in one place. If you need to support projects for different boards, then have separate directories for each variation, and an environment variable pointing to each.

2. there is no graceful recovery from an error. I created a separate directory for a project, and ran "mbed new ." I got:

bgangwere@cronus /c/Users/bgangwere/mtw/mbed_ss

$ mbed new .