cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ModusToolbox Bluetooth SDK

user_1536336
Contributor

I just want to program my new CYW920819 eval board (20819 silicon) with the Modus Toolbox 2.0. I tried this with the J-Link Plus Version 10.1 without success.

Project explorer

Project.PNG

Debug configuration

Debug.PNG

debugger.PNG

Error

error0.PNG

Console output

Could not connect to target.

Please check power, connection and settings.SEGGER J-Link GDB Server V6.54c Command Line Version

JLinkARM.dll V6.54c (DLL compiled Nov  7 2019 17:01:02)

Command line: -if swd -device Cortex-M4 -endian little -speed auto -port 2331 -swoport 2332 -telnetport 2333 -noreset -noir -localhostonly 1 -singlerun -strict -timeout 0 -nogui

-----GDB Server start settings-----

GDBInit file:                  none

GDB Server Listening port:     2331

SWO raw output listening port: 2332

Terminal I/O port:             2333

Accept remote connection:      localhost only

Generate logfile:              off

Verify download:               off

Init regs on start:            off

Silent mode:                   off

Single run mode:               on

Target connection timeout:     0 ms

------J-Link related settings------

J-Link Host interface:         USB

J-Link script:                 none

J-Link settings file:          none

------Target related settings------

Target device:                 Cortex-M4

Target interface:              SWD

Target interface speed:        auto

Target endian:                 little

Connecting to J-Link...

J-Link is connected.

Firmware: J-Link V10 compiled Nov  8 2019 16:40:12

Hardware: V10.10

S/N: 600100325

Feature(s): RDI, FlashBP, FlashDL, JFlash, GDB

Checking target voltage...

Target voltage: 3.28 V

Listening on TCP/IP port 2331

Connecting to target...ERROR: Could not connect to target.

Target connection failed. GDBServer will be closed...Restoring target state and closing J-Link connection...

Shutting down...

So it seems, that there can't be established  a connection with the Board and my J-Link. I already tried to switch off SW 9 and to remove all four jumpers for the PUART connection interface. Is there anythink elese I could do?

Best Regards!

0 Likes
1 Solution
AnjanaM_61
Moderator
Moderator

Hi ,

You can't program CYW20819 using JTAG / SWD. It can be programmed only via HCI UART .

Please note Jlink can be used only for debugging.

You may refer to the doc available here for the steps:

https://www.cypress.com/file/462726/download

Thanks,
Anjana

View solution in original post

7 Replies
AnjanaM_61
Moderator
Moderator

Hi ,

You can't program CYW20819 using JTAG / SWD. It can be programmed only via HCI UART .

Please note Jlink can be used only for debugging.

You may refer to the doc available here for the steps:

https://www.cypress.com/file/462726/download

Thanks,
Anjana

View solution in original post

user_1536336
Contributor

Hi, thanks for your reply!

Ok, but how to programm a device via HCI UART? In the documentation Getting Started with CYW20819​ it says to build and program the device via Modus Toolbox.

docu.PNG

But I don't have this features in my Modus Toolbox 2.0.

doku2.PNG

What can I do?

Best Regards!

0 Likes
user_1536336
Contributor

Okay, question is obsolete! I did it!

I had to switch to the example project (Motion_Sensor) and not to the base project (wiced_btsdk). There you can see Launches described in the docuementation. After that I had to do the HCI Reset procedure and it worked!

Best Regards!

0 Likes
AnjanaM_61
Moderator
Moderator

OK!  thanks for the confirmation that it worked

Regards,
Anjana

0 Likes
user_1536336
Contributor

Dear Cypress! Your software and hardware features are in most cases very fancy! But please update your documentation and your documentation management. It is very hard to find the right ressources / datasheets... A more structured documentation would be great in the future! Best Regards!

0 Likes
AnjanaM_61
Moderator
Moderator

Hi @user_1536336 ,

I understand your point. I will report this to our documentation team.

Thanks for your patience.

Regards,
Anjana

0 Likes
AnjanaM_61
Moderator
Moderator

Hi,

The option icon is bit different in MTB 2.0 , and will come once you select a valid application.

Click on the project name which you want to program, then you will get the option.

For example, check the screenshot attached:

Thanks,
Anjana

0 Likes