How to use PWM of PSOC5 Creator 2.0V?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

hi,

I am just a beginner in the PSOC cy8c5568axi..... I have some question.Can I use PWM component without using API ? Can I use PWM component that I do  without  CPU ? It is in common  use that Directly connected to the I/O ports ?

0 Likes
1 Solution
HeLi_263931
Level 8
Level 8
100 solutions authored 50 solutions authored 25 solutions authored

If you are forced to use hardware only, then why using a PSoC at all? Yopu should use a CPLD or FPGA then. The strength of PSoC is the combination of configurable hardware with a MCU. It makes no sense to use it a CPLD only.

If you really need to, you can look into the definition of the PWM component, to see the register definitions. This would allow you to set these values via DMA (which still needs some code to set it up).

Why do you need 'little code'? The PSoC5 has at least 32k flash, and goes up to 256, which should be more than enough.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
10 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

I have some question.Can I use PWM component without using API ?Can I use PWM component that I do  without  CPU ? Is it in common  use that Directly connected to the I/O ports ?

translation:我有些问题。我能不能使用 PSOC5 Creator 2.0V 提供的PWM模块,直接与I/O端口连接或与自己设计的通用模块的寄存器连接?不使用API,不经过CPU?

0 Likes
HeLi_263931
Level 8
Level 8

1. You need to call at least PWM_Start() in your code. Apart from that, you can configure anything in the component properties.
  3. You can use the PWM component without any runtime CPU intervention. But if you want to change any setting of the PWM, you need to execute code (e.g,. change the duty cycle)
  5. Yes, it is no problem (and commonly done), to connect the PWM outputs directly to IO-Ports.
0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable