tutorials for psoc4

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Jweaver
Level 3
Level 3
25 replies posted 10 sign-ins 5 sign-ins
        Does all of the introductory tutorials for psoc devices apply for psoc4? I am new to this but not sure where to begin, and would like to minimize the learning curve... Thanks for your advice.   
0 Likes
1 Solution
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Welcome in the fascinating world of PSoCs!

Unfortunately: No, not all example projects run on every PSoC family. The PSoC4 chip has different internal resources than the PSoC3/5 and so there are examples for

PSoC1

PSoC4

and PSoC3 and 5 which have got similar internal hardware despite of the CPU (8051 vers. ARM Cortex M3)

To start with PSoC the cheapest would be to use a PSoC4 Pioneer Kit but in my opinion for the target of learning I would recommend the PSoC 5 -050 Kit which comes equipped with a 2-lined display making the look inside the PSoC somewhat easier than just to blink some LEDs.

When it comes to build spin-off projects you will always look for the smallest chip the project fits into which may be a PSoC4.

The PSoC1 chip is very versatile, but lacks the easy-to-use debug capability all other PSoCs have got, making the initial equipment to get some more expensive.

Bob

View solution in original post

0 Likes
10 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10

Welcome in the fascinating world of PSoCs!

Unfortunately: No, not all example projects run on every PSoC family. The PSoC4 chip has different internal resources than the PSoC3/5 and so there are examples for

PSoC1

PSoC4

and PSoC3 and 5 which have got similar internal hardware despite of the CPU (8051 vers. ARM Cortex M3)