Custom PSoC 3 Board Design

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hey guys,I'm an undergrad student from BITS Pilani,Goa campus,heading the on-campus CUA Initiatives.We're trying to build a custom PSoC3 board,to better suit our specific needs and for wider exposure of this tech amongst our student body.

The first version is going to be a bare-bones solution,i.e just the PSoC3 chip,the required capacitors around and a programming header,with as many pins broken out to headers as possible.All power rails will be provided via off-board supplies,or not.Lets see.

A few specs the board needs to meet,( I do understand these might be impossible to meet

1.Single Sided

2.Can be etched using toner-transfer method of self PCB Fabrication.(Hence the first point)

3.Can be hand soldered 

4.Low Cost.

All these point toward the DIY nature of board production and assembly,essential for easy access to PSoC3 solutions,without requiring large numbers of FTKs and DVKs.

Let me discuss each part of that in some more detail,since I want some help on this design.

The PSoC 3 Chip - Owing to the fabrication constraints mentioned above,we're going to go with the 48pin SSOP chips of the PSoC3 family for our initial designs. We would like to go with the CY8C3866PVI-021 (most feature rich SSOP part) but its $14.So,our next option is the CY8C3246PVI-147,which is priced at $7.We do lose a few features,but lets see how that goes.

Just the required capacitors - We'll probably have 0805 SMD caps where needed,according to the schematics(I'll come to that) in the datasheet for the PSoC3 Family.