Firmware upgrade failure

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

I am new to PSoC 4.  I have the CY8CKIT-042-BLE pioneer kit.  I literally just took it out of the box about two hours ago.

I tried to create and download a project in PSoC Creator. The download failed because of a firmware mismatch.  So I ran PSoC programmer.  Sure enough, it says I need to update the firmware.  So, I clicked on "Update Firmware" as ordered. I get the following error message:

"                                                 | FAILED! Can not initialize Bootloader. Please replug KitProg device."

I do not know what to do from here.

0 Likes
1 Solution
Anonymous
Not applicable

I must have done something wrong during the installation process.  I installed the software kit on a different PC and everything worked fine, including firmware update.  I then uninstalled everything from my first PC then started again.  Everything seems to be working fine now.  Thanks for your help.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
7 Replies
rola_264706
Level 8
Level 8
50 likes received 25 likes received 10 likes received

hold down the reset button SW1  on the pioneer board for 10 sec.

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you for answering so quickly!  OK, RESET/SW1 is the button closer to the RGB LED?  I have pressed and held it for ten seconds in many different circumstances.  There is no obvious effect.  Here is what I observe. 

(1) If I plug in the USB cable, both orange and green LEDs turn on solid.  (2) The programmer pops up with the "out of date" message.  (3) I navigate to Utilities and select "Upgrade Firmware".  (4) The text "Initializing..." appears.  (5) After approximately three seconds, the green LED begins to flash at a high rate (perhaps 4-5Hz?). (6) The programmer gives me the message above, then shows no connected devices.