SPI DATA WIDTH

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

I'm pretty new in using the PSOC. Now  I'm using CY8C3866AXI to control TLC5922 through SPI. This needs to change the data width of the spi from 8 to 7 or vice versa time to time . but SPIM_DATA_WIDTH is generated automatically in SPIM.h. So,how can change it ? thank you!

0 Likes
1 Solution
HeLi_263931
Level 8
Level 8
100 solutions authored 50 solutions authored 25 solutions authored

Reading the data sheet, I don't see the need for 7 bit transfer. The TLC5922 wants to get either 16 bits (2 bytes) or 112 bits (14 bytes). The first amounts to 1 bit per LED, the second one to 7 bit per LED. But for both you can use a SPI master configured to 8-bit-words.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
7 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable
        You can't change SPIM DATA WITH in time to time.   
That is a especial requirement, but doable, I think.   
Use 2 SPIM (7bit, 8bit) in parallely   
Or switching time to time, by control signal.   
How's it?   
0 Likes
HeLi_263931
Level 8
Level 8

Reading the data sheet, I don't see the need for 7 bit transfer. The TLC5922 wants to get either 16 bits (2 bytes) or 112 bits (14 bytes). The first amounts to 1 bit per LED, the second one to 7 bit per LED. But for both you can use a SPI master configured to 8-bit-words.

0 Likes
ETRO_SSN583
Level 9
Level 9
250 likes received 100 sign-ins 5 likes given

Several possibilities -

1) Create your own SPI out of existing module or a LUT + Logic.

Componet author guide will help. There are also videos on component

authoring - 

http://www.cypress.com/?rID=49025

http://www.cypress.com/?rID=48413

2) I looked for a register in TRM, I could not find, but look at where

SPI_DATA_WIDTH is used in project, maybe that will point to register

that controls width. Then look in Reg TRM for its usage.

3) Using just SPI, control its output with a LUT to alter ?