TetraHub (CY7C65640A) long term reliability issues

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi All,     

After spending close to two months going back and forth with an individual from Cypress Tech support with little success, I am hopeful that the community at large may be able to point us in the right direction.       

I am a SW engineer responsible for all of the USB related software for a commercial test / measurement instrument that uses USB as it's primary internal communications bus.  Our device consists of 2 physical boxes, in which we have integrated 3 TetraHubs.  One is in the primary box on a custom board connected to a COTS PC, and two (both on one board) in the instrument specific physical box.  The bus architecture has all three chained together, so:     

BOX1( PC -> TetraHub1 -> ) ==> BOX2 (TetraHub2 -> TetraHub3)     

Communications between the PC and TetraHubs are all done at high speed (480 Mbps).  We have our custom hardware devices connected to TetraHub2 and TetraHub3, which are all full speed devices (12 Mbps).  The PC runs an Ubuntu Linux OS, and the custom devices are based on Atmel AT91SAM7X parts, running FreeRTOS.